Leyendecker Plaza Renovation Project


The Deming Luna County MainStreet program was successful in securing two generous Power Up grants from PNM to fund the project.

The first grant funded the fabrication of the two pot custom fountain that was produced by Desert Blooms of Albuquerque NM.

The second grant was used to fund the fabrication and placement of the colorful shade sails. This was produced by Rader Awning of Albuquerque NM. A huge Thank you PNM for your wonderful support of this project and the desire to improve our downtown district!

Phase one

The Deming Luna County MainStreet Program as it began the site preparation for the project!

Phase TWO

In this phase, the 4 holes which are 4ft deep were drilled for placement of the 12ft above ground poles to form a strong base that the shade sails attach to. Concrete was then poured anchoring the posts and the supporting cables were installed for the sails. Each sail was custom crafted for an exact fit, and unique colors were selected. This fabrication and installation was completed by Radar Awning of Albuquerque, NM. The Deming Luna County MainStreet Program recognizes our local businesses, Alvarez Plumping & Heating, Hobbs Sand & Gravel, Desert Valley Inc, and Michael A. Greco Landscape & Repair, for their extraordinary collaboration with this project!

Phase Three

This was, and continues to be a fund raising campaign for the Deming Luna County MainStreet Program. This phase consists of selling custom laser engraved bricks that surround the base of the fountain. This presents a unique opportunity to those that purchase a brick as they become part of the history of Deming, NM.

Phase FOUR

In this phase, art work was painted around the fountain surround and on the uprights supporting the pergolas.

Renovation ceremony

After the four phases were complete, The Deming Luna County MainStreet Program held a renovation ceremony honoring Clyde Leyendecker and family. Also invited to speak were Deming Mayor Benny Jasso, along with former MainStreet President Christie Ann Harvey, now Executive Director.